Naohia Falls aka Ice Pond


Total Distance: 2.5miles

Route and Return Route

Terrain- deteriorating paved road and mud, choke mud

I found this falls on someone’s blog last night and messaged my friend at the last miunte.  We were planing on doing likeke falls from the gold course, the easy route.  But I don’t think that the pool at likeke is that deep and it’s pretty well known so we wouldn’t have been alone at least not for long. 

This trail begins in Kalihi Valley and travels up an old paved road.  The land is owned by the board of water supply but it’s easy to access and we didn’t see a single person around while we were out there.  It’s a very easy hike up the road followed by a downhill scramble including ropes and slippery rocks.  Once we got to the bottom it was all worth it.  Actually it wasn’t that bad.  It only would have been bad if it had been sustained.

The pool beneath the falls is crystal clear, very cold and approximately 8ft deep, acording to my stick measurement.  There are ropes on the rocks where the water is falling and it is possible to climb to the top of the falls.  Above it are 2 more falls.  My friend went to the top, I thought better of it with my shoulder injury.  But I did go about half way up. 

Probably the best part of this falls is that no one was there.  We had the place all to ourselves and it was this amazing falls and swimming hole just a short walk from civilization. 

Once we had our fill of swimming we went back up and decided to see what else we could see.  Just up the hill from the first trail is a second one.  The second trail leads to the top of the other 2 falls.  So it seems that there is no way to get underneath the other 2 falls without climbing the first. 

So I have noticed that my calves are sore today.  I think it might be getting sore from the new shoes.  Not in a bad way just different.  Maybe I’m using the muscles differently? 

The rest of the pics

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 12:22:17

    What a beautiful spot for swimming!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Older Posts

November 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930