We’re not in Kansas anymore


Sadly, my family and I left Hawaii in June.  We had a great 3 years and I have no regrets.  I enjoyed the beauty of Hawaii on high mountain ridges, in valleys with stunning waterfalls, under the ocean, on the ocean, on the beach and anywhere else I could think of.  I feel like I did everything I wanted to do, got to know myself and forged wonderful life-long friendships.  I will always have a special place in my heart for the Hawaiian Islands.

Alas, it was time to start a new chapter in my life.  My husband retired from the military and we now live just outside of Charlotte in South Carolina.  It’s been wonderful to be closer to our family.  We enjoyed a month of traveling the whole eastern coast seeing family and friends and enjoying some vacation time.  After our vacation we came here to plant some roots.

I started a nursing refresher course in July, which required me to spend a few days in Greenville SC.  This was my first opportunity to get back out in nature.  I discovered a great trail called the Swamp Rabbit trail.  It runs through Greenville and is said to be over 14 miles long.  It’s a little piece of paradise in the middle of an otherwise bustling town.  I walked over 4 miles on it and plan to explore more when I go back in October.

Here in South Carolina I have discovered the Anne Springs Close Greenway which has some nice hiking and biking trails among many other amenities.  It’s a varied recreation center that has something for everyone.  There is a $3 per person per day fee to use the trails.  I considered this nominal and definitely worth exploring.  There is a horse barn, a pool, a full gym, kids programs and more for a monthly fee.  We enjoyed a walk here one Saturday afternoon

My latest hangout has been the McMullen and McAlpine Greenway about 5 miles from where we live.  It’s a great place to run, walk, bike or even rollerblade.  There are a few parking lots with ample parking along the trail and they even have these stations with tools and a place to work on a bike.  I’ve been trying to go daily and walk 4-5 miles.  The greenway’s terrain is asphalt, wooden boardwalk, and concrete.  It’s lush and green and removed from the busy city of Charlotte.

Soon I hope to explore more of the Carolina Thread Trail which looks like a great effort.  I’ve even considered becoming involved in the organization more.  Funny, my time in Hawaii really awakened a passion for the outdoors in me.  Now that I am back on the mainland I can see that efforts such as this are very important in preserving animal habitat, and for giving the next generation an appreciation for nature and its healing power.  I recently read an article I found on BuzzFeed about the benefits of hiking.  It struck a cord with me and I really hope that I can help others see the benefits the article points out.

So, I was sorry to leave Hawaii in some ways, there’s no doubt about that.  But I believe that it was time to start a new chapter in our lives.  I’m looking forward to setting down roots and getting involved in the community.  I hope that my experiences in Hawaii can help me have an impact here in SC.  I will continue to post my adventures here and I hope you will keep reading.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
