Iliahi


I found a group of people that hike every Saturday through my friend and dive buddy Debbie.  It’s great because there are enough people in the group that they always have enough to hike and the fact that they go on Saturday mornings is perfect for me.  Everyone in the group is pretty experienced and they often choose off the beaten path hikes.  It gives me a chance to do a bunch of hiking I might not otherwise find and some longer distance ones I have had trouble finding buddies for.

A typical Saturday morning starts at 8:30am at the trailhead that is determined by the group’s coordinator and emailed out on the preceeding Thursday.  This was my first hike with the group and it started at the top of Komo Mai Dr. in Pearl City.  It shares a trailhead with Manana Ridge, which I hiked with a friend earlier this year.

The name Iliahi is actually the name of a rare endemic tree that is found along the route.  The trail splits off from the Manana Trail at a set of power lines and continues downhill for the first half-mile or so.  It then begins a series of ups and downs that are quite tiring.  While it’s not a long hike, at 5 miles, and not particularly dangerous, it’s requires endurance.  The trail is cleared periodically by the Hawaiian Trail and Mountain Club and can also be done with them for a small fee.   I think I probably would have joined the HTMC if I had more time left here.

The views from the Iliahi trail are similar to those from the Manana trail, in fact, the Iliahi loop returns on the Manana trail.  I enjoyed the views if the lush green valleys and photographing my fellow hikers on the ridge in front of or behind me.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Plains in the middle of a mountain range?  Actually pretty typical of certain areas of the Ko'olau Mountains

Plains in the middle of a mountain range? Actually pretty typical of certain areas of the Ko’olau Mountains

2013-04-06 10.09.08

2013-04-06 10.14.41

I don't know why, but I like to frame these cool dead trees in my shots

I don’t know why, but I like to frame these cool dead trees in my shots

2013-04-06 10.44.59

2013-04-06 11.17.15

2013-04-06 12.04.51

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
