Zumba!


This blog has been a bit neglected the last month or so. Between holiday shopping and all the other things I have on my plate it’s been hard to keep up. I have been on the trail a little less than usual but I do have 3 or 4 hikes to write about.

I’ve lost 30lbs to date but my loss was stalled for about 2 months from around the middle of October. I knew that my body was used to all the hiking and walking that I do so I needed to find a way to kick it up a notch. I knew why I had stopped losing but it didn’t make it any less frustrating. That last 15lbs was really frustrating.

A friend invited me to go to Zumba with her at one of the community centers here on post and I was instantly hooked! I started going 4 days a week sometimes twice a day and I also attended 2 different Zumbathons. The first class I wasn’t sure I could do it but I was determined to try. The instructor told me that it’s about having a good time. Every moved doesn’t have to be exactly right, just have fun with it. It’s about getting moving in a way that is exciting and doesn’t feel like a workout. So what if you’re on the wrong foot, no one is watching you that closely. Also the better I get the more I can accentuate the moves and the more calories I can burn.

I’m lucky to have free classes available to me through the community centers here on the base so I take full advantage of it. Zumba has turned out to be exactly what I needed to bust through my weight loss plateau and start losing again.

As of today I am down 28lbs from my starting weight. I have gained a pound or two with all the sweet temptations and lack of Zumba classes. Since Christmas and New Years both fall on a Wednesday there are no classes Tuesday and Wednesday of both this week and last week. Soon enough, though, the kids will be back in school and I’ll be back to burning calories like crazy. I have 2 xbox Kinect Zumba games but they are not as much fun as going to a class. I have been doing them but I don’t last an hour and the space I have is small so I don’t get to be as wild as I would like.

If you’re looking to shed those holiday pounds Zumba is a great way to do it. It’s a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
