Pu’u Pia


Total distance: 2.25 miles
Total Time: 1hr 40min
Terrain: Rainforest/Ridge

2013-09-01 09.46.26 (768x1024)

Pu’u Pia shares a trailhead with the Kolowalu trail but it is a much easier alternative. This was a nice gently grade with mostly covered terrain. The Honolulu Watershed is a beautiful rainforest tucked away just outside the city. The trailhead for this hike can be found on Alani Dr in Manoa. Parking is on the street and the streets but be careful not to block anyone’s driveway.

2013-09-01 10.25.09 (1024x768)

This hike is definitely appropriate for children. It’s been on my bucket list for 2 years now so it was nice to finally explore it. I put it on my list when I was just starting to hike on the island and I just never got around to it. My abilities have come a long way since I put this on my list but it’s nice to do something laid back and easy once in a while.

I love to frame these crooked trees into my shots

I love to frame these crooked trees into my shots

The trail is largely in the rainforest and can be muddy and slippery, but it’s to be expected since Manoa Valley often gets a lot of rain. It offers views of Honolulu, which don’t thrill me much. What I really enjoyed was coming out of the rainforest and looking back at the peaks of the Ko’olaus and down into the valley below. The ridge comes out in front of the mountains making them quite stunning. We were even treated to a double rainbow as the clouds came over the mountain. The downside of that is a rather short stay at the Pu’u because the rain was coming over the mountain and we needed to get out of there before it became a total mud fest like Pu’u Ma’eli’eli was.

Uh-oh

Uh-oh

2013-09-01 10.28.16 (1024x768)

Double Rainbow

Double Rainbow

 

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
