Building Confidence


Recently one of my mentors and friend told me “confidence comes from experience”. He also told me “at first we might have to fake it a little”. Now, that’s not to say we fake things in the course standards, just that we have seem confident even when we may not be. Being and instructor is a big responsibility and I don’t take it lightly. Maybe that’s what has led people to tell me I would make a good instructor.

This person knows who he is and so do some of you reading this. I feel compelled to share this because it’s been very important to my progression. I’ve had others encourage me and help me all along the way but no one with such timely advice as he. He always seem to have just the right bit of advice exactly when I need it most. He always seems to know what I’m thinking by watching me with customers or any fellow divers.

Such advice as “just work today’s charter and do your best”. This came at a time when I expressed stress about needing work and worry about whether I would get any. I still worry about it from time to time but I always remember this piece of advise and I do my best to let tomorrow take care of itself. It’s something I have had to learn with everything in this life. It’s especially key in diving because it can be unpredictable at times. Some days are slow and others are all hands on deck busy. All I can do is my best and at the end of the day that has to be enough.

I have gotten a chance to go out and see other instructors teach a class, make an entry into the water with a class, and see it executed. It’s been great but I hope that some day soon I will get a chance to do this myself. In the meantime I just have to let things go the way they will. I work hard and I try very hard to please everyone whenever possible. I’ve worked hard to get where I am and I have to believe that someday soon that work will pay off.

Another piece of advise that I have taken is getting out and diving for fun. It increases my confidence because I get in the water and I get more comfortable in the water each time. Let’s face it we weren’t exactly built to be able to breathe under water. So it’s like entering an alien environment and it comes with its own challenges. Sure I’ve done a bunch of diving. I’ve spent time honing my skills but it’s important to take time to enjoy myself also. Everyone has their happy place, where nothing in the world matters and you are at total peace. It just so happens mine is under the surface of the sea. So I have to remember to enjoy that too. I was able to do just that yesterday and it was great. It was refreshing to just be a diver. I should probably do it more often. But that’s a whole nother post.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
