Making Musubi


Recently my kids have decided that they like a local food called Musubi. It’s a cake of sushi rice with a slice of spam on top held together by a strip of nori. That’s the watered down explanation. I’ve had quite a few people from home ask about them so I took some pictures today and I figured I’d do a step by step write-up.

The Musubi is very cheap as a snack and is sold in most gas stations, convenience stores and grocery stores. I think SPAM is used in Hawaii more than anywhere else in the world. I think what surprised me the most is that it’s not as cheap as you would think. My husband calls it “stuff posing as meat” and that seems pretty accurate to me. I think most people also know that SPAM is pretty bad for you as well. Full of nitrates, fat and salt. Because of all that I don’t eat them and neither does John. The boys like them though and I don’t see any harm in letting them eat them. What I found though is that I can make them pretty cheaply and the kids like them in their lunches in place of a sandwich.

It starts with a can of spam, a rectangular sushi mold, some sushi rice (medium or short grain rice), and Nori to tie it all together.

2013-03-01 11.00.06

The rice is cooked according to package directions and then allowed to cool for about 5 minute or until cool enough to handle. The Spam is fried in a pan with some shoyu or soy sauce mixed with sugar brushed over top to add a bit of flavor. There are many ways you can season the Spam but this happens to be the stuff I had on hand.

While I was cooking rice and spam I also prepared a sheet of Nori to be used to hold everything together. I took one sheet and used a razor to cut it into 8 strips to go along with the 8 slices of spam I am cooking.

2013-03-01 11.00.45

I cooked 1.5 cups of rice which yields about 4 cups of cooked rice.  I started by measuring 1/2 cup of rice and putting it into the mold.

2013-03-01 10.44.20

Next I use the plunger or mold it into a rectangle

2013-03-01 10.44.36

Then the plunger is removed, a slice of spam is placed on top.

2013-03-01 10.41.39

I place a strip of Nori on the cutting board, shiny and smooth side down, and then center the mold over it.

2013-03-01 10.41.58

As I apply gentle pressure to the plunger I lift the outer mold off.

2013-03-01 10.42.15

Once I remove the plunger I wrap the nori around and I have a Musubi.

2013-03-01 10.42.54

2013-03-01 10.42.47

The only thing left to do it let it cool completely and individually wrap them up and serve.  At $.50 each it’s certainly cheaper than $1.29 at the store.  They can be served hot or cold.

It’s a neat part of Hawaiian Culture and food that my kids have embraced.  When I think about it it’s something they will always remember from living here and it’s cool.  It will be something we can take back and share with friends and family for years to come.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cravesadventure
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:12:02

    I love getting rice, an egg and some hot spam for breakfast when I travel to Hawaii or a spam bun down in Chinatown in Honolulu – YUM:) Happy Friday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
