The Perks of the Job


Diving in and of itself is amazing. Teaching people to dive is even more amazing. But why do we do it? Well, there a lot of reasons. But I do it for the perks.

I do it because every day when I come to work I get to meet new people. People from all walks of life from all over the world. It’s an honor to be able to meet all these people and to show them a bit of Hawaii and what we who live here love about it.

It’s often said in diving that an instructor is in the transformation business. It’s so true and I can’t wait until I get the chance to participate in that transformation. Whether it’s by teaching an open water class or doing discover scuba in open water. Taking someone who has never been diving from unsure, fumbling and aprehensive to a diver is something that is amazing to watch. I’ve seen it many times but I’ve never been able to participate in it to the level I can now. Now I can take a class all the way through. I can take someone on a discover scuba dive and then through the open water diver course and see the progression.

I told a customer yesterday that my fellow instructor “raised me since I was a pup” and it’s really true. I am still amazed at how far I have come from that first day in the pool.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
