OWSI…the journey continues


If you had asked me a year ago what I thought I would be doing for work here in Hawaii I would have said working in a hospital as a nurse.  But, someone had other plans for me.  Instead I caught the diving bug and I have been diving as often as I can ever since.

I’ve debated for a few months now on doing the instructor course.  I finally decided that I want to move forward with it.  So, beginning in January I will be entering the IDC (instructor developement course).  I’ve been spending a few hours each day studying my materials and preparing for a pre-exam of sorts.  It’s pretty surreal to think that at the end of the IDC I will be expected to teach this stuff to other people.  There is some work to do but I know I will be able to overcome the obstacles.

The last week has really put things into perspective for me even more than ever before.  After the tragedy at Sandy Hook School (my alma mater) I am assured that I have made the right choice.  I have to live in the moment, here and now.  I have been given a gift in diving.  I have been given an outlet, a happy place and a passion.  As an instructor I will have to opportunity to share that passion with others.  I’m excited to get started and I’ll do my best to chronicle my experiences here when I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
