100 Dives and Counting


On 7/28/12 I reached my 100th dive.  I wanted to do something different so I called a friend and she agreed to meet me for a twilight/night dive at the Haleiwa Trench.  We had 2 great dives and there were 3 of us diving that day.  The trench is a little less popular than some of the other sites on the north shore and it was chosen partly because parking isn’t so difficult there.  Of course, it was pretty full when we showed up.  The parking for this dive site is located at Haleiwa Ali’i Beach Park.  Park as close as you can to the two story building there.  You have to walk out behind that building and you will see a small beach area with rocks off to the right.  Walk across the reef until you are chest deep or so and start looking for the drop off.  The trench is exactly what it sounds like.  It’s a deep trench that goes from 10-90+ feet.  It’s hard to get lost because it’s basically a wall and you just contour the wall to one side or the other.  Lots of really cool things to see down there and a deep dive from shore is uncommon

The 2 other divers are good friends and they are pretty hilarious to be around.  We had a great time just poking in holes and looking for little things.  It was the first time I had done a dive at the trench at this time of day and it did not disappoint!  The cup coral was beautiful after dark and we saw many varieties of nudibranchs.  My camera doesn’t take pictures in low light or I would have had a plethora of things to shoot. 

It was nice to have a fun dive with friends for this special milestone.  After you reach 100 dives they say it’s somewhat of a magic number.  You need 100 dives to become and instructor.  To finish the course that is.  So, after 100 a lot of people stop tracking.  But I still plan to log my dives since I like to remember the things I see and the people I’m with.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
