Cold Cold Go Away!


It’s 3:40am Saturday morning and, obviously, I couldn’t sleep. I was woken up at around 11 by a coughing fit, went back to bed for a while, got up and came downstairs to sleep more upright, took a shower, read a little and finally laid back down but never really was able to doze off. I’m going to pay for it later.

The last 3 or 4 days I’ve been feeling under the weather. Monday I slept most of the day and Tuesday I really started to feel crummy. I made it through the week ok because it’s just a cold and my symptoms are mild. I was just wiped out.

In diving, even mild congestion can be a very real problem. As you descent you have to equalize your air spaces. If there is mucous in the way it can’t be done adequately. That’s why they tell you not to dive with even minor congestion no matter the cause.

The last 2 days I’ve been using a sinus rinse and have managed to clear the congestion. It’s not pleasant to do, but it’s effective. I won’t give the gory details but lets just say it hasn’t been pretty. Now, I only have a mild occasional cough.

This weekend is set to be full of diving and productive toward finishing DM. This morning I’m headed to the south shore for a deep dive that will fulfill my deep dive requirement as well as give me an internship on a boat and the logistics that goes with it.

Tomorrow, is a day scheduled with the other DMC’s that just started the program. The plan is to knock out the swims, both the 400 meter and the 800 meter, the 100 meter tired diver tow and whatever else we can get done.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cravesadventure
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 11:05:19

    Homemade Chicken Soup, Fluids and Rest

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
