Making a list and checking it twice


I’m getting close to completing my Divemaster program.  At least I think I am.  I have done a lot of work but there is still more work to be done.  I sat down and looked through the instructor manual today to see what is left.  According to the manual I have to complete the following. 

  • Knowledge Reviews and Final Exam
  • Create and Emergency Assistance Plan
  • Complete Waterskills exercises
    •     400 meter/yard swim
    •     800 meter/yard swim
    •     100 meter/yard tired diver tow
    •     equipment exchange
  • Complete diver rescue assessment
  • Complete the dive skills workshop and assessment there are 24 skills that must be demonstration quality
  • Complete the divemaster-conducted program workshops
    • Scuba Review in confined water
    • skin diver course and snorkeling supervision
    • discover scuba diving program in confined water
    • discover scuba diving in open water
    • discover local diving in open water
    • Deep Dive Scenario
    • Search and Recover Scenario
    • Dive Site set up and management
    • Dive briefing
    • Mapping Project
  • Complete Practical Assessments
    • Open water students in confined water
    • open water students in open water
    • continuing education students in open water
    • certified divers in open water
  • Meet the Professionalism Criteria
  • At the time of certification:
    •     Log at least 60 logged dives
    •     Complete EFR Primary and secondary Care
    •     Read and agree to the PADI membership and license agreements

Does this seem like a lot?  It looks worse than it is.  I have about 2/3 of it done.  A lot of the time multiple criteria can be accomplished in one day or even in one dive.  I’ve been at a slight disadvantage the last month with some of the skills and swims because it’s something that is normally done with a group of candidates and I have been the only candidate at the shop.  Recently, however, two more DMC’s have started the program.  So, this weekend I hope to knock out the swims, rescue scenario and whatever else I can during the “divemaster day” that is scheduled for sunday.  So what do I have left?

  • Complete Waterskills exercises
    • 400 meter/yard swim
    • 800 meter/yard swim
    • 100 meter/yard tired diver tow
    • equipment exchange
  • Complete diver rescue assessment
  • Complete the dive skills workshop and assessment there are 24 skills that must be demonstration quality (about half of these)
  • Complete the divemaster-conducted program workshops
    • Scuba Review in confined water
    • skin diver course and snorkeling supervision
    • Deep Dive Scenario
    • Search and Recover Scenario
    • Dive briefing

I will be spending the weekend at the dive shop working on all of these.  During the divemaster workshops set for sunday I hope to get the water skills, rescue assessment and the remaining skills done.  That leaves very little to do.  To be honest the part that has me nervous is sunday’s swims because they are graded based on time and there is a minimum score based on the cumulative total.  It’s not hard to achieve but I must at least meet the minimum times and that’s what I’m nervous about.  What if I can’t make the 400 meter swim in the minimum time?  Same with the 800 meter and the 100 meter tired diver tow.  I’m also nervous about looking weak or silly in front of my fellow DMC’s.  Both of the other candidates are male and in the military so I’m sure they will leave me in the dust.  I guess that depends on how polished their swimming skills are for the 400 meter swim.  I know that I have excellent form and strong skills in a swim that doesn’t include and equipment.  But I’m used to fresh water and the surface current and waves could really mess with my time.  I guess I’ll just cross my fingers. 

I’m at the tail end of the program and most of the objectives have already been met.  With just a little more work I will be an official Divemaster!  I’ve set a goal of June 16th for completion.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
