Sharks Cove


I got a chance this morning to take John out to shark’s cove for the first dive of the season out there for him.  It was nice to get away for a little bit.  We didn’t take many pics on this one. 

The first dive we headed out and to the left.  I took compass readings and off we went.  We poked around and found a little eel and some other little things.  I was concentrating on navigating.  When John signaled me “half tank” I signaled back “ok” and then “turn around”  So we followed our heading in reverse on the way back.  Only I did the math wrong or something cause when John signaled a little while later “500 lbs” we did our safety stop and surfaced.  We were way farther out to sea than I thought.  Unfortunately we had to surface swim a ways until we got back into the cove.  Once we got back into the cove we dropped back down, so we wouldn’t have to fight the surface current, and exited the water.  For the second time in 2 days I left the water feeling dumb.  I thought my navigational skills were decent.  Obviously they need some work.  In fact, I wasn’t really sure I wanted to post this at all.  But, since this is also a log of my diving for myself, here I am. 

On the second dive we agreed to go right and over to the lava tubes over there.  We agreed on a heading and stuck to it.  Fifteen minutes into the dive I was just unsure in my navigational skills and my head wasn’t in the game.  I was worried about getting us turned around again even though we had agreed on a heading.  I wish it were that simple but it’s not.  You don’t really go in a straight line.  There are things to go around and over etc etc.  I tried to take note of rock formations on the way out.  Of course my dumb self didn’t look at them from the right angle, facing my return heading.  So I signaled “turn around”.  We made our way back, surfaced to confirm our position and then made our way to shore. 

I’m finding that judging distance and using formations as “landmarks” is a lot easier said than done.  In Advanced Open Water they teach you to use time or kick cycles.  But if you swim against a current on the way out and then ride it back that’s not all that accurate.  I definitely need practice with navigating.  Most of the DM’s that work at the shop seem to know these sites like the back of their hands.  They make it look effortless.  We never surface and look to see where we are with them.  How do they do that?  Maybe it is since they have done it so many times.  It certainly makes me think.  Once I become a DM then I could be that dive leader.  So I really need to hone those skills.  Is it a matter of getting to know the sites?  probably.  Do I need to be able to navigate effectively so that when I go to a new site I don’t get lost?  definitely.  It’s something I plan to work on both during DM and outside on my own. 

Also on the way in from the last dive my ankle started hurting.  It’s been sore on and off for a little over a week now.  I tweeked it at shark’s cove last weekend and I probably just need to rest it.  So I guess I need to take a few days off.  I’m sure it’s nothing serious though.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
