E-Beach 4/23/12


Are we seeing a pattern here?  Yeah it’s a good shore site with easy access.  I see something different each time I go though.  Today I had a different buddy, someone I met through the dive shop.  There was a current running but I was hoping we could get under it and entry looked great! 

Our first dive we headed out to the pipe where we saw a turtle resting on the bottom and several schools of fish.  We saw an octopus but my camera batteries died.  We also saw a couple of turtles sleeping under ledges.  The visibility was perfect today.  We stayed for a little under an hour and then headed in for a rest.  I came back with a half tank on the first dive because our max depth was 25 feet. 

As soon as we exited the water we heard that some people had spotted some dolphins just off shore.  Swimming with the dolphins is something I have been wanting to do.  So we quickly switched tanks and headed out again.  Surface interval was probably only 15 minutes. 

The Second dive we headed right for where the dolphins were spotted but we missed them.  We did make it out to new reef where less divers and snorkelers hang out so the coral was more established and there were tons of fish.  We hung out for a bit and peaked in some holes and then made our way back once again. 

The exhaust from the electric plant. This is where the warm water is discharged back out.

For me, the highlight of the day was a confidence boost.  Twice I led myself and my buddy out and found exactly what I was looking for and made my way back without getting turned around at all.  I am learning to trust my compass.  It is reliable even when I think I know where I am going.  This is a big confidence boost because I feel like I can head to any dive site, even one I haven’t been too before and find my way around.  I can be confident that I can be safe under water.  It’s a very good feeling.  I also picked up my books for dive master yesterday and being confident in my navigation is crucial. 

Speaking of Dive Master; I need to study.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
