Shark’s Cove 4/21/11


This morning I headed out to shark’s cove with my favorite dive shop and a few tourists. We did 2 dives today, one off to the left and one off to the right.  I managed to get a picture of a devil scorpion fish along the way too.  My real focus today, besides having fun, was capturing the cool under water landscape that shark’s cove has.  There are lava tubes and amazing rock formations everywhere you look.  The reef is full of life because it’s a protected marine sanctuary.  It’s probably the best shallow dive site on the island. 

 Of course we saw lots of cool stuff like eels, turtles, octopus and various nudibranchs.  But I didn’t get pictures of most of it.  I am trying to focus my photography on underwater landscape mainly because it’s easier to photograph.  It’s not moving.  I hope that by learning to set up my shots with cool landscapes I might be able to catch some cool fish in with those landscapes and thereby come up with some really cool pictures.  I hope you enjoy what I was able to get today. 

camouflage that's the idea

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Find Focus
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 21:13:32

    Beautiful photos! I think the 3rd might be my favorite just because I love the layers of light you’ve captured in that shot. 🙂

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 17:06:22

      I think you are right I like that one too. This underwater photography is really addicting.

      Reply

      • BCDiver573
        Apr 23, 2012 @ 05:14:41

        Underwater photography is super addicting. What kind of camera do you use?

      • Find Focus
        Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:06:10

        I can see that! If I knew how to dive and had the ability/access to do so, I’d have to have a decent underwater camera. I love taking photos when snorkeling, but since I can’t do it very often I don’t have a very good camera. Yet. lol!

      • BCDiver573
        Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:33:27

        The Nikon L22 or L24 with an Ikelite housing is a good camera set up if you’re on a budget. Mine has been battered about the world and it’s still working great!

  2. BCDiver573
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 22:23:07

    Great pics! Glad you got your camera working, it looks like a great dive site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
