A little pat on the back


Yesterday I noticed something.  I’m actually in really great shape.  I found that I was rarely winded and that I felt strong.  Yeah the kids were with us and they move slow but I felt like I had really good stamina.  Six months ago 5 miles would have totally kicked my ass.  There was no doubt that yesterday’s trail was a good workout but I didn’t feel like I was going to die.  I even found myself running a little along the trail without a problem. 

So I guess all that diving and hiking is paying off after all.  The great part is that I am enjoying all of it.  Another great perk is that the more I do the more I am up for.  I can do more miles in one day than I ever could before.  So maybe some of those 6-10 milers are not out of reach now. 

I think the best perk is the opportunity to bond with my kids.  It gets us out there and doing something together.  At first there was a lot of belly aching and now not so much.  The geocaching helps a lot. 

By doing outdoor activities I am teaching them a lot too.  I am leading by example as they say and it’s great.  I hope that they are learning to be responsible citizens also.  They need to know how to take care of the earth that sustains us.  We can’t continue to exploit our resources and think there won’t be consequences.  Maybe we won’t see them but our children will.  When the water is too polluted to drink and the soil is too tainted with chemicals to plant then we’re all out of luck.  Too many people go to the store and buy food without thinking of the resources needed to sustain a supply of food.  When you really get down to basics and think about it we even take the air we breathe for granted.  If we cut down all the trees that help keep our air supply clean then what will we be breathing in 50 or 100 years.  These are all examples of things that my kids need to learn.  They are too young for a lot of the scientific stuff but teaching them the basics now will help them be more responsible later.  When they say things like “eww someone left their trash” its simple things like telling them “that’s not nice let’s pick it up” that can really help them. 

Ok I’ll step off my soapbox now.  I’m not hard-core activist but my parents taught me that I don’t have to be.  Little things that I can do every day can make a difference in my community.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Swirling Turnip
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 14:46:01

    Lucky kids!

    Reply

  2. cravesadventure
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 14:58:23

    Good For You – AWESOME!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
