Electric Beach with Hubby


This was a 4 day weekend and John and I were able to get out and dive together.  I am so glad that he and I found the hobby of diving together.  We enjoy ourselves and see some awesome things along the way.  We were also joined by my friend Jenna whom I met in rescue class.  She’s leaving soon so it was sad that this may have been our last dive together. 

The first dive I was navigating and I was shooting for the pipe and then to make it off to the left.  For some reason I missed the pipe entirely.  I think I wasn’t paying close enough attention to my compass and I was thinking we were headed in the same direction when really we were not.  There was also a current running that may have thrown us off.  I had hoped that John would navigate since he is more experienced but he pushed me out in front.  About the time we were getting close to a half tank I was pretty lost.  So I surfaced to see where we were and set a new course back toward shore. 

At the surface John argued that I was supposed to be following the number at the top of my compass and I disagreed and said we should be following the number that is visible in the window.  As with many things, there is more than one correct way and as long as we agreed on what that was we wouldn’t get lost.  I was feeling apprehensive and a little uptight knowing that we were way off where we thought we would be.  Luckily, e-beach is a shallow and expansive site that allows for these errors to be made.  We saw an eel and a lot of smaller fish on this dive. 

What I took away from the first dive was valuable.  First, you and your buddy have to agree on a course and who the navigator will be.  I had told John that I wanted him to navigate but once under water he pushed me out in front and I wasn’t really expecting to take on that role.  I’m still a relatively inexperienced diver and I need to work on my skills with a compass.  This gave me a oportunity to do that without having to worry too much about running out of air.  The max depth for this dive was 30 ft and by staying shallow we had plenty of time to make a mistake without worrying about running into our NDC far from shore.  I was also wise to admit I was turned around and that it was time to surface and look and see where we were.  I learned that navigating my landscape is not really very easy. 

Our second dive had much less confusion.  John and I agreed on a heading and he led us out to the pipe.  He had said he didn’t want to fight the surge and push created by the pipe but he had never been there before.  Jenna and I convinced him it was worth checking it out.  Once we arrived at the pipe John was in photo heaven.  He was snapping and taking video and Jenna and I were goofing off. 

Since we had set a heading, gone directly there, and knew our way back both by sight and reciprocal heading it was a much more relaxing dive.  We poked around along the sides of the pipe, above and in front of it.  The pipe is a large steel area that had become an artificial reef over the years.  Because of the warm water being discharged back into the ocean via this pipe it’s always teeming with fish. 

the reef behind the pipe

large schools of fish just "hanging out" is a usual sight

Jenna and I doing headstands underwater, on rocks not reef of course

I really enjoyed being able to hang out and I enjoyed watching John having fun with the camera.  I could sit and watch forever I think.  There was huge school of surgeon fish hanging out right in front of the pipe that I just sat and watched.  John didn’t take pics of them but he did get pics of the sergeant majors and the wrasse. 

It was a nice day and I’m thankful I got to dive with my friend and my husband.  I hope I can do it again soon but since the kids are on spring break this week I doubt that will happen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cravesadventure
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 12:53:50

    I love that my partner in crime in life has similar interests:) Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Deborah
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:56:16

    great pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
