Save-a Dive


Many divers carry what we call a “save-a-dive” kit.   This includes extra parts and acessories in case something breaks while getting ready.  It allows the diver to replace a part rather than missing a dive because of something simple. 

I carry a kit and my husband doesn’t.  This works for us because I dive more often than he does, lucky me.  So far, when he goes out diving I’m always with him, and if by chance I’m not it’s easy enough to throw my kit in his bag.  This is something that PADI includes in their open water manual. 

The parts in my kit are extra things that we have chosen to replace such as fin straps.  We both have spring fin straps now so I threw the rubber ones in the kit just in case.  I put the plastic clips in there too because theses are actually more likely to break than the springs themselves.  We also have mask straps from the ones we have chosen to replace.  For example, my old mask broke but I held on to the strap in the event that we break one.  Same for the mouthpiece, John chose to replace his with a custom mouthpiece.  I use the standard one that comes with the reg.  So while we chose to upgrade a lot of parts for ease or better performance there isn’t really anything wrong with the other ones.  So why not save them and make a little rainy day kit.  After all, who wants to miss a dive because of the torn mouthpiece or broken fin strap? 

My kit includes:

  1. Extra mouthpiece with zip tie
  2. Mask strap
  3. Fin straps with buckles
  4. snorkel holder (plastic)
  5. mask de-fogger

The mask de-fogger is something I use on every dive but it’s small and gets lost easily so I decided to put it in the kit.  some people carry it in the pocket of their BC but I don’t really trust that the container is water proof so I prefer to leave it on shore.  If I’m in the water and I need it I’m probably under water and can’t really apply it anyway.  Do you carry your de-fog in your bc?

So, I want to know; what do you have in your kit?  Have you ever needed it?  Where do the parts come from?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Gossard
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 09:34:52

    If you have your own equipment (like we do), we also carry an extra dive computer battery (if you have one). In addition to O-rings for the tanks if you end up having your own tanks as well. It’s been a few years since I’ve dived though but these are just things I remember. We didn’t necessarily carry all these while diving but just to have them with us so we didn’t miss out on a dive because of something small like that. I’d have to check “the kit” when I got home to see what all we have in there but from what I’ve heard some of those things always seem to happen at the most inopportune time and it’s so disappointing to miss out on a dive because of something as trivial as these things. BTW, I sure enjoy your posts and they have been really giving me the itch to dive again. Hopefully this Sept/Oct when on Kaua’i. Take care…

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 09:43:48

      I need to grab some o-rings that I know. A computer battery is a good idea but to be honest I don’t even really know how to change it…oops. I would also be concerned that the battery would get corroded by salt water/air. I’ll have to consider that though. Our batteries are designed to last a while cause I have to take the computer apart to replace it.

      I’m glad you enjoy my blog. Please let me know what sites you dive in Kaua’i as I want to do some diving there at some point also. If you ever need a buddy on Oahu let me know. I know several good shore sites.

      Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 09:45:46

      Oh I’m sorry I forgot to mention that most of the time we use the shop tanks since that’s part of what we pay for with the classes or boat trip. But I do have tanks for a grab and go type dive and they do get used. I had an 0-ring problem on my last boat dive and we just switched the tank because we had an extra and it was easier than trying to change an o-ring on a moving boat. It was my second tank so we were out to sea already.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
