Turtle Canyon/Kewalo Pipe


Today was the first day of our advanced open water class.  John and I did Boat Diving and Peak Performance Buoyancy.  We made it out to Kewalo Basin and got on the boat around 11 or so.  I was excited to get going with my new gear and John was glad to be getting out again.  We boarded a boat called the Kahala Kai with several other divers from various dive companies.  The boat probably held about 16 divers and was a 40 ft catamaran.  It was a really nice boat.  

The first site was Turtle Canyon which is a shallow site that’s about 20 feet deep or so.  We had a choice of going down the stairs of the stern or a giant stride off the side.  We both chose the giant stride, me because I had never done it.  It didn’t take long to hit the bottom and we basically practiced staying neutral and off the reef.  John and I both did some experimenting with weight to find a good balance.  He was still too heavy and I was about right.  We got really close to some very large turtles and saw a few other things.  It was the longest bottom time we’ve had yet, about 45 minutes or so. 

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed being down.  It’s been great for John and I to find some common ground again.  Some of the things we used to do together he can no longer do so finding this has been amazing.  My new gear performed great.  It was a perfect fit if ever there was such a thing.  So much more comfortable than anything I ever used in class.  I definitely made the right choices.  My reg was amazing and I didn’t have a bit of jaw fatigue.  LOVE it! 

The second dive was deeper than the first.  John and I both were a little puzzled by this as the course teaches you to do your deepest dive first but we didn’t question.  This dive was really relaxing as well.  We stayed down about 40 minutes and we were able to see an Octopus swim around and several species of fish and eels we haven’t seen before. 

Overall today was a kick ass day!  I can’t wait to do it again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Deborahborah
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 06:33:05

    Oh my goodness, how much fun to see an octopus! Sounds like a great time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
