SCUBA Tank- to own or not to own?


Living in a beautiful place like Hawaii it makes sense for us to own our own gear.  Where we stumbled a bit is with tanks.  Do we really need to own our own?  Owning your own tank means having it VIP’d yearly, and being responsible to have it filled etc.  Renting means you don’t have those worries, you just go down get our tank and go.  At least that’s what I thought. 

Once again my friend Jeanie brought something to my attention.  In the summer months we can dive the north shore any time we want.  That makes it simple to buzz by the shop and grab a couple tanks and go.  In the winter though, it’s not so simple.  The shop opens at 8am so we would have to wait until 8 to get our tanks.  What if we want to go early?  That means getting the tanks the day before and an extra day of rental.  We would also have to have them back before the shop closes or, again, face another day of rental fees.  Around here in the winter we typically dive either the west or the south shore.  Both of those are 30-45 minute drives depending on the site.  What if you finish diving and you wanna grab a bite to eat?  You can’t because you have to rush back to return your tanks.  So once again Jeanie talked me into spending money.  She did hook me up with someone who is leaving the island and selling a couple tanks though.

Living in Hawaii affords a lot of shore diving oportunities so it’s worth it.  In other locations you may be landlocked or require a boat.  Maybe you only dive when you travel.  If you dive often owning your own BCD, regulator etc is a no brainer.  Tanks are not quite so simple.  If we lived in a place where the only diving was from a boat and through a tour then I wouldn’t need tanks.  They typically provide them on the boat.  If I didn’t live near the ocean and I have to travel to do my diving, again not worth it.  But for us I think it is.  In the long run it saves money.  It’s only $3 to have a tank filled.  So for $3 we get the ability to come and go as we please and not worry about time.  We can go get the tanks filled later.  

I think it’s a wise choice.  What do you think?  Do you own a tank?  Is it worth it?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 15:19:54

    I wish I could help you out on this situation. I am not an expert on this subject, but I’ve alway thought, if you are serious about a hobby (and see yourself doing it for a couple of years), then it’s a good idea to invest on the gear you need for your hobby. I think you should buy the proper gear you need.

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 20:20:08

      It’s not really a matter of proper gear. It’s more about convenience. I’m getting a deal so I’m going ahead since the lady that I’m buying them from is moving off island and can’t afford the weight of taking them.

      Reply

  2. Ann Gossard
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 07:55:38

    I would say it is a good idea to have them for the sake of convenience but do know that it does have it’s fees and such to maintain them. Not only do you have to do the yearly check up, you also have to do the hydro every 5 years. We live on the mainland in northern IN and received our certification about 4 years ago. We went gung ho and bought all our own stuff. Unfortunately due to life changes and unfortunate sequence of events we haven’t been able to do any diving for the past 4 years. I was thinking of finally getting rid of our tanks as they are all due for the hydro and yearly which is gonna cost around $100 per tank for both. Not a pleasant fee to have to pay just to maintain. However, we are looking to move to the island of Kaua’i next year so have decided to keep them and get them up-to-date along with an inspection of our BCD’s & regulators, new mouth pieces on our regulators and snorkel gear, new masks and new batteries in our computers. However, I’m still unsure of transporting the tanks and issues or ramifications of doing so but intent to find that out before making the trip. If you can get a great price on them I don’t know why you wouldn’t get your own. I’d live underwater if I could!!! BTW, I thoroughly enjoy your blog! Keep up the great work!

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 10:23:15

      Thank you I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog. Bringing your tanks here is doable. It’s really a matter of whether or not your paying for the weight. The person we are getting ours from can’t take them because of the weight. She’s only allowed 300lbs and it would cost her more to ship them than to get new ones.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
