The Adirondacks


I really don’t know how to begin this because the Adirondacks are so near and dear to me.  Adirondack National Park is huge to say the least.  It covers probably at least 1/4 of NY.  From Lake Placid to Lake George and everything in between its natural beauty with captivate you. 

The first time I went to the Adirondacks I was too young to remember it.  When I was a small child my grandparents owned a second home there that they used for boating and swimming in the summer and for skiing in the winter.  Unfortunately, my grandfather was killed in a tragic accident up there so the cabin was sold before I reached 10.  For a while my grandmother kept it and we used it in the summer. After a while it became too much for my father to keep up with the maintenance as my brother and I got older. So eventually it was sold. 

I have memories of going for a “midnight swim” where my father would turn on the headlights so that we could swim in the private beach after dark.  I remember watching the side of the road for a shiny stone we called “mica” and collecting it.  I remember going to great escape every year, except now it’s 6 Flags Great Escape.  I was there just a couple of years ago and the log flume that we used to make our parents ride is still there. 

As an adult I visited the park periodically and the most recent time was for an operation purple family retreat in Lake George.  I had been to Lake George but it had been a long time but I was excited.  We stayed at the Silver Bay YMCA and I was not disappointed.  Lake George is stunningly beautiful and incredibly peaceful.  I can remember thinking “this is the NY I will miss” and sometimes I do.  You can find pictures of our weekend here.

The Adirondack region has it all, hiking, biking, skiing, watersports, shopping, 5 star dining, amusement parks and the list goes on and on.  It was originally a weekend vacation destination for people from New York City and was only accessed by boat.  As time went on roads were built and many of them still wind through the mountains today.  When I think of the Adirondacks I like of sitting next to a warm stone fireplace with a big moose head hanging over top.  It makes me want to make a cup of Hot Cocoa and settle in with my husband and kids.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 06:11:53

    My husband used to go to Lake George all the time and loves it. I’m still waiting to get my chance. It looks so beautiful. THanks for sharing the pictures.

    Reply

  2. makenzieking
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 06:40:08

    I went on vacation in the anirondacks once as a kid, very beautiful from what I can remember. 🙂

    Reply

  3. cravesadventure
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:53:57

    I would love to see this region:) Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
