The Fingerlakes


The Finger lakes and Northern New York border one another.  The finger lakes region is best known for it’s wine and the beautiful lakes for boating and fishing.  It’s a very large region of New York with green pastures and stunning waterfalls. 

Something I miss on the mainland is the historic buildings and homes.  We have them here but somehow they don’t hold the same charm of a Victorian home on main street in some small village.  Each one has its own charm. 

In the Summer of 2009 we spent a week in the finger lakes region with my brother and his girlfriend.  We hiked Taughannock Falls, Lucifer falls and others that week.  We camped at Buttermilk State Park and we sweltered!  It topped 90 most days and even topped 100 one day.  We never stood a chance in a trailer with no AC.  None the less we had a great time and built some great memories.  I have lots of pictures from this week on Facebook here.

Before I was married I lived in this region of New York briefly and I was always blown away by the sheer beauty of it.  The small town feel and the historic main streets captured my heart.  I lived for about 7 months in a town called Seneca Falls NY.  I lived just up the street from the “women’s rights hall of fame”. 

If you’re a wine drinker the finger lakes region is the Napa Valley of the east coast.  Oh how I miss some of my local wines.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 17:12:13

    I need to check this place out one day. It sounds like a lot of fun. Come on, it’s the easy coast napa valley….I love napa valley!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
