I need a vacation…


Ok lets see who’s listening…

I want to book a vacation for our family of 4 this summer. I have several problems.

  • Airfare is about $4000 no matter where we go
  • We live on a rock in the middle of the ocean
  • I’m not sure I want a tropical destination when I live in one
  • I need something where the kids will have fun too.
  • We would like to be able to SCUBA dive
  • I don’t really want a CONUS trip since there will be plenty of time for that when we move back CONUS

So where shall we go? What shall we do? I have thought about a week on one of the other islands. The problem with that is that it leaves us stuck with the kids 24/7. Don’t get me wrong I want some family time, but I would also like some time for just the 2 of us to go diving or something.

I thought about cruises but the airfare is a party pooper for sure. Cruising is the best thing I’ve found as far as giving us adult time where there is a safe and fun place for the kids to go. The question is how do we do it affordably. That’s the problem with being on a rock in the middle of the pacific, airfare is killer!

So, ready, set, go! Ideas

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 13:11:12

    What about the cruise around the islands? I believe it starts in O’ahu then docks in Maui, then Kona, BI, then Hilo, BI. And this part I’m not too sure…I think it goes to Kaua’i, then back to O’ahu. It’s 8 days, I would like to say and last time I checked (which was a year ago) it was $1,200 (including 3 meals per day). I believe that’s was the local rate, which I think you guys are local. Plus, there might be a military discount.

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Jan 24, 2012 @ 14:09:40

      We did it this past summer. I’m thinking of a trip to BI for our 10 year anniversary for like 4-5 days. And then I think of the kids….

      Reply

      • Jen
        Jan 24, 2012 @ 16:48:04

        Ooo, that sucks. Okay, well, this is going to be tricky. I like the whole cruise ideas. What about a cruise to California, like those Disney cruises. I bet you can still scuba in Cali. Or maybe Alaska, but I don’t know if scuba is a good idea.

      • hikinginparadise
        Jan 25, 2012 @ 09:07:45

        We have been to alaska actually. Unfortunately it’s going to cost us $1000 a person to fly to any of the ports. So it’s not in the budget this year. I am re-thinking things and hoping for a couples get away to BI later this year since it’s our 10 year anniversary. Waiting to see when the grandparents will be here 😉

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
