Halona Cove and Blowhole- revisited


I have actually been the the cove and blowhole twice in the last 2 weeks.  Yesterday my brother showed me the way to walk around to the blowhole and get close to it.  The first time we went I was too sick and didn’t walk around with them.  I was really hoping for some shots of the blowhole going with people in them but we had no such luck.  The walk to the blowhole is over volcanic rock and though it’s allowed I wouldn’t recomend just anyone going down there.  In order to be safe one needs to check the surf report and use good judgement. 

After we walked to the blowhole we wanted to swim in the cove.  The cove is not for a weak swimmer.  You need to be experienced in ocean swimming.  In the summer months this cove gets higher surf so swimming is even more difficult.  When we entered the water we noticed right away that there is a strong undertow.  The waves we wonderful, I was washed ashore 2 or 3 times and it was fun but not planned.  I had plent of sand in my swimsuit when we came home.  The sand is soft and beautiful but only goes about 30ft or so into the cove and then it turns to a rocky bottom.  I would definately recomend reef shoes.  We were able to avoid most of the rocks by simply keeping our feet up though. 

The cove feels wonderful.  The water was crystal clear and warm.  But if you choose to go in the water you should be a good swimmer.  The undertow can be quite powerful and should not be taken lightly.  I found that you have to use the waves to your advantage when entering or exiting the water.  Wait for a wave to help you ashore etc. 

My Earlier Post on this spot—–> Here

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 12:59:16

    Beautiful pictures. Personally, I’m afraid of caves and such. The undertow freaks me out. I’m a pretty strong swimmer, but I can’t hold my breathe as long as I used to. There is a place in Hilo called Boiling Pots. It’s a natural heated pool connected to the ocean. I wanted to go, but on yelp locals were saying people died there, so I opted out. I still regret it, tho. I think I’m going to do it next time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
