Nude Beach


If you read my other blog you already know today was a bad pain day.   So I did the bare minimum to keep the house running and took off to the beach for an experiment in meditation as a form of pain relief.  That entry *here*.

I decided in order to maximize my beach time and the quiet environment I was looking for to head toward Mokuleia.   As I drove down Farrington Hwy I passed the houses and the Mokuleia Forest Reserve access road.  Soon after that I came to some white fencing and the Dillingham Ranch.  I noticed a cluster of car parked off the side and I wondered what was down there.  So I looked closer and saw that there was a right of way to the beach there.  I thought maybe it was a break and they were out there surfing. 

I probably should have known it wasn’t a break because the whole area has a barrier reef that keeps the waves from being too large so one would have to paddle out quite far to get any action.  I walked down the path to the beach and it was quiet as could be.  Once I reached the beach I saw almost no one around which was exactly what I was looking for.   I walked along the beach and found a shady spot to sit. 

After a while of sitting and meditating a man approached.  As he got closer I realized he wasn’t wearing clothes or a bathing suit of any kind.  When I looked again there was a whole group of people down at the other end of the beach who were swimming and sunbathing in the nude. 

So if you want to join them you come down the path and turn right.  Go down around the bend out away from the path and this is where they were gathered.  There seemed to be a little cove where there is no reef where they were swimming. 

I stayed at my end and they stayed at theirs.  I have no problem with this really.  I didn’t care to join them but I say live and let live.  I meditated and lay in the shade listening to the sound of the ocean and relaxing.  Today there was a lot of surf so I didn’t dare get in.  But there were a few who did.  As I sat to the left of the pathway a few others came and went playing in the water, all wearing bathing suits. 

This beach is, for the most part, deserted.  I found it and excellent place to relax and reflect.  The waves are broken by the reef so they are not breaking right on shore like at some other north shore places.  I’m sure I will revisit this spot as it’s only a few minutes from the boy’s school.   It also makes a nice spot to watch the skydivers as the float toward the airfield.  The parachutes make them float down like feathers to the ground.  Pretty neat to watch. 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 22:17:28

    HAHA. I’ve made that mistake too. You are right. It’s not that awkward, they stay on one side and we (the bathing suit wearing) stay on another side. It is quite peaceful, I think.

    What’s your other blog? I would love to read that one, too…if it’s okay with you.

    Reply

  2. Find Focus
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 22:27:34

    I LOVE being able to be on a beach, especially since I’m landlocked most of the year. : ) It’s extremely relaxing and balancing for me and I think it actually helps with my fibro and cfs. Actually, Whole Living Magazine had a great article in the July/August issue about how one woman found healing from water. I couldn’t find a copy of the article to link you back to it, but if you’re interested in reading about her I would recommend looking her up. Also – this blog talks about the main parts of the article: http://thebathtubdiva.com/the-healing-waters-of-a-bath-and-the-sea … : )

    Totally unsolicited info but thought you might find it interesting and helpful. lol!

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 21:19:09

      Where do you live? I love that I can go to the beach and see the ocean any time I want. I will cry when I leave here for sure. Even though I know it can’t realistically be my forever home.

      Reply

  3. hikinginparadise
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:41:12

    You got it!

    Reply

  4. hikinginparadise
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:41:58

    You got it. But that sounds really nice. Horses sunset and beach….mmmmmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
