Hickam Beach and Hickam AFB


Today I had a 9am appt at tripler aka “crippler” army medical center and then a 2pm at physical therapy.   It didn’t really make sense to come all the way home to go back so I decided to check out Hickam AFB and get some tickets for when mom and dad visit in a couple of weeks.  My findings are as follows:

1.  The Airforce, Navy and Marines all have better location than the Army on this island.  This is an opinion of course but seriously, what’s with that?

One would think that following the road along the shoreline would lead to a beach.  This rule does not apply at Hickam AFB.  The first thing I found along the shore was a nice walking path along the harbor with a small sea wall wide enough to sit on and hang out.  Just beyond this sea wall is a rock shelf that extends out about 10ft and then drops sharply.  If one were to drop a hook in you just might catch dinner.  The first thing my husband wanted to know was if you could dive or snorkel there.  I don’t have the answer to that.  A woman who I met by the sea wall said she didn’t think its allowed because of the Navy vessels that pass through the channel.  But the thing that intrigued me the most was this:

Spotted Eagle Ray

 There was also a sub leaving, which my husband later identified as an attack sub.  Yes, I’m Navy stupid sorry.  They parked us in Siberia aka. Ft. Drum, and left us there 9 years what do you expect?

After my little side trip I set out to find the beach since that was the original goal.  I’m glad I had time to kill and my iPhone.  I never would have found this without my phone.  Most beach parks in Hawaii are listed in GPS so it makes it easy to find things.  Military instalations are the exception to this rule.  Most things on a military instalations can be found with a street address, but without it you’re pretty much screwed. 

The beach on Hickam AFB is really nice.  It’s soft sand, wave free and crystal clear water.  Small, quiet and out-of-the-way, just my speed!  If you can find outdoor rec on Hickam you can find the beach.  I enjoyed the view and took it all in.  Definitely a place I will be visiting again, and soon.  The best thing here is that it’s well suited for small children because there is a seawall blocking any surf from making it to the beach.  It also makes conditions ideal for SUP (stand up paddling), especially for beginners.

Sorry folks I believe you will need military ID for this one.  But for the military, worth the trip.

**Updating: we visited here yesterday and the water was as blue and calm as ever.  My kids played in the sand and enjoyed the water with their grandparents.  The only correction is that the “sea wall” that blocks the surf is actually a runway.  I realized this when I looked up to see a jumbo jet rolling down the “sea wall”.  Still a great family friendly beach!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 09:46:27

    HAHA…crippler. That’s funny!

    You always have the BEST adventures. I love reading and re-living what you are doing. Even a local like me forget how to stop and smell the roses.

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      Nov 04, 2011 @ 11:07:47

      Thank you Jen. I take that as a big compliment. It’s something I’m learning. Maybe it’s the island or maybe it’s because my kids are in school and I have me time. But I’m learning to take that time for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
