Kolekole Rock- Pu’u Hapapa Rock


Yesterday was spent with some friends and today after taking one kid to the doctor and the normal cleaning up of a sunday I decided to take a short drive over and see if I could find Kolekole Rock. 

“A path into the woods and up the mountain leads to a large stone with a unique natural bowl and drainage through it that has attracted considerable attention over the years. Hawaiian folklore says that the pass is named Kolekole after the old woman who watched people pass the stone that served as the territorial marker. Some speak of the rock being used for sacrificial beheadings of defeated warrior chiefs.”

http://www.innatschofield.com/s5.html

I had found the trailhead earlier this week but because of live fire exercises I wasn’t permitted to access it.  I was greeted by these signs.

I wasn’t alone though.  When I arrived there was one other truck there.  But when I left there were 5 or 6 cars.  So I guess this place is no secret.  The GPS on my phone wasn’t working right so I didn’t get the mileage on this one but my guess is 0.2 or 0.3 miles to the top.  It only took me 20 minutes round trip.  including a bunch of pics. 

After the rock there is razor wire and signs telling you it’s closed and that there is unexploded ordnance in there.  I am told that if you proceed up the ridge you can see the entire leeward coast.  But I didn’t dare today since I could hear gunfire.  I’m guessing it was coming from the skeet range, because there was a flag flying when I drove by.  But since I couldn’t be sure I decided not to risk it. 

I was able to get some pics of the Pu’u Kalena, another trail that has been closed because of unexploded ordnance, and its danger.  That’s supposed to be a tough climb.  Short but sweet today. 

To get to the trailhead is easy.  From Lyman gate take Lyman road all the way to the end where you will encounter a hard right and a road to bear left.  Bear left and go 2.0 miles.  The trailhead is on your left and there is a parking area.  This trail is best done on weekends when there is less military training, but be prepared to be turned away if they are using a nearby range.  The usually post a guard to keep people from entering. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
