Surf Watching- Ehukai


After the hike this morning we walked across the street and found a shady spot to watch the surfers.  I brought along my other camera that has the zoom to get up close and personal with these guys.  Though the surf wasn’t huge by pipeline standards it was still larger than any that I can ever remember seeing.  I’ve been trying to think if the east coast ever gets 10ft waves.  I can’t recal any except maybe right before a hurricane.  Maybe they get the surf in the winter on the east coast….hmmm

Last week when I was riding my bike a local guy saw me standing at “three tables” watching the surf roll over the tables and he told me that the current in Hawaii is one of the strongest in the world.  He said that’s why Hawaii gets such large swells in the winter. 

So here’s some of the pics I took today.  I’ll put some more on FB.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
