North Shore Bike Path


Total Distance: 6.2 miles

Terrain: Paved Bicycle Path

hazards: traffic a few small isolated areas

I started out this morning at Waimea Bay beach park.  I have to say this is the first time I have found a parking spot there.  Seriously.  Probably because it was early.  I went straight there from dropping off the kids. 

It was overcast this morning which, to be honest, was nice because it wasn’t so hot.  But actually a good portion of this trail is shaded.  I rode from Waimea Bay down to Sunset Beach and back.  Along the way I stopped several times to take pictures at some of the breaks and I just enjoyed the ride in general. 

The trail is paved, wide enough for 2 way traffic and separate from the roadway with the exception of a small area near pupupkea beach park and a few places where the trail runs on a parallel back road.  But those parallel back roads have almost zero traffic.  The trail is well used by bikers walkers and runners alike.  The condition of the trail is good except a few places where tree roots are pushing up the pavement.  Nothing that makes it unusable at any point.  Much of the trail is covered by mature trees which is nice too.  It’s also a relatively flat ride with some small hills but nothing steep or sustained.  It seemed to require equal exertion in either direction. 

I had to turn back at sunset beach because of time but the trail did seem to continue on.  Officially according to the map this is where it ends. 

One small note of caution or FYI.  You will encounter people on this trail who are homeless.  Some of them don’t look homeless.  There is most definitely a homelessness problem in Hawaii.  Because of the relatively  constant whether it’s possible to live in a tent year round.  The cost of living here is very high and that doesn’t help the problem either. 

Today I stopped at Foodland and got some spring rolls and then took them across the street to Pupukea beach park and sat on the rocks overlooking 3 tables.  As I was sitting there a man appeared coming from under that jagged rocks.  I was surprised to see this and was curious.  When I investigated a little further it seems there is a cave of sorts down there that doesn’t get wet and there seem to be people living down there.  To me this is a sad situation.  I didn’t really know what to do so I was respectful of their space and I sat on the rocks and watched the sea.  They didn’t ask me for anything, some people will stand on the road with cardboard signs, and I didn’t offer.  Even though I don’t mind making a donation to help the homeless I am leery of giving money directly to a person who is homeless.  I guess it’s engrained in me from the time I was a kid.  Somewhere someone told me that it wasn’t a good idea because they would probably only spend it on booze or drugs.  Most of those people don’t strike me as people who are drunks or addicts but I prefer to make my donation to an outreach organization just the same. 

So if you encounter people who appear to be homeless, don’t be alarmed.  They won’t approach you, most of them anyway.  Hawaiian people are a very proud people and that perpetuates the problem more too, they don’t want to ask for help.  They all say hello as you walk by, as does everyone here, and they mind their own business.  If you want to give them a hand up, buy them some food. 

Ok now that I have bored you with that.  A Hui Ho!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenkakio
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 22:44:57

    I can’t wait to check out this bike path! I’ve always passed it in my car, but never really paid much attention to it. I can only imagine what it would be like to ride a bike during Triple Crown time. That’s going to be a lot of fun.

    That’s interesting about the people living in a cave, that reminds me of a family I saw in Mexico living in a huge collapsed statue. Their front door was the statue’s ear. It was weird to see them crawling out of the nose. LOL. It’s funny, but sad at the same time, but you gotta do what you gotta do, I guess.

    I agree with not giving money to a homeless person. I always offer food instead of giving money. I will never deny someone of food and water. It’s a sad sight, but I try to do what I can on my college student salary. LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
