Kaiona Beach Park “Honu Heaven”


I discovered this amazing place through YouTube. There’s a guy here in the island that does “poor man’s paradise video’s” So now I have a whole new list of things to do.

Here’s that link http://www.youtube.com/user/WAYDESWORLDHAWAII

So Kaiona Beach park is a local beach. I didn’t now where it was so I put it in my GPS, but once I got there I knew I had driven by it several times before and felt it was a local beach. We never stopped before not knowing what we were missing.

The first thing you notice about this beach is the quiet and the peace that it offers. The parking lot is small but parking wasn’t a problem this morning. On the weekend I imagine it would be. There are shower facilites and a rest room as well as a grassy area for picnics and parties that can be reserved.

There is a chain link fence between the grass and the beach. On the water side of the fence there are several trees that offer shade. There are also several canoes stacked from the Waimanalo Canoe Club in a shaded area at the back of the beach.

It’s easy to see why this is “honu heaven”. The reef starts just feet from shore and the water is shallow and calm. I got right to the snorkeling and into the water I went. I ran into many places where it was so shallow that my belly was almost touching the reef.

I saw about 3 different Honu, or turtles. The first one had only one of it’s front flippers or fins, the right side.

The other things this beach offers is 2 man made pools that are rows of rocks that were stacked just so in order to make 2 tide pools. There are no waves in these and they are almost like swimming pools. But you would never know they are there because you can’t see them from the road. Clearly this is a local secret. You’ll find these tide pools to your right and behind a concrete break wall as you face the open ocean.

Just as I was leaving there was a family arriving with young children and it made the perfect playplace for children under 3 or that are not used to waves. But don’t forget today was a flat day on the east. So durring high surf these walls are not high enough to keep all of it out.

As I strolled back from the pools toward the parking lot I spotted something I hadn’t seen when I first arrived. Just to the left of the first rock barrier is a clear sandy channel going out toward deeper water. I wish I had seen this before since I would have made good use of this instead of the awkward swim that I had over very shallow reef. Just off this channel I spotted at least 2 dive flags.

This is a wonderful park and very family friendly. Truely a hidden Jem. Perhaps the locals want to keep it that way and I don’t blame them one bit. This park has everything from some benches over top of grass to sit on to stairs down to the water to shallow tide pools for small children. It truely is Honu Heaven because I saw at least 6 more turtles swimming right off shore.

It’s also easy to miss this park and drive right by to the larger Waimanalo Bay or Bellows AFB that are only a couple of miles down the road. But I won’t miss it again that’s for sure!


Waimanalo Beach on Dwellable
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 13:41:19

    The pictures of the turtles are MAGICAL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
