Kolowalu Trail


Total Distance;  2.45 miles

Difficulty: moderate

Ok folks this on is not for the faint of heart, or the out of shape for that matter.  It’s short but it’s all uphill. 

The wide trail with some awesome foliage to see

I arrived at the trailhead expecting to do Pu’i Pia, which still plan to do, but decided this looked more interesting since it didn’t make the guide book I have.   The first 0.36 miles from the street was easy even though there was some mud.  I was thinking that the path was pretty wide not too steep and pretty good for families.  I soon changed my mind.  After a stream crossing the trail gets steeper and muddier.  I kept climbing and climbing and watching my GPS and pushed to make it the 1 mile up the mountain.  I made it 1.18miles and turned back.  I didn’t make the summit. 

My frist clue should have been that in 1 mile this trail gains 1100ft in elevation.  Yah, dumb on my part. Kinda missed that in the brochure.  There were roots and rocks and fallen trees to climb over and around and all of them were muddy.  When I finally reached my stopping point my calves were screaming and by then I said said, “that has to be the top” to myself 3 or 4 times.  I decided the call it a day.  Thought the view was somewhat obstructed by the plants it was still amazing, you can see waikiki, and the manoa valley below. 

Pauoa Valley

So I stopped and had some water and caught my breath before making the steep descent, which honestly scared me more than the ascent.  Yes it was muddy going up but I was able to find foot holds pretty easily and I wasn’t sure if that would hold true on the way back down. 

Slowly I made my way down, on all 4’s and holding on to branches and rocks.  But it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  I came back out about 2 hours later and I was really tired.  It certainly was a good workout.  I was a little disapointed I didn’t make the summit, which couldn’t have been much further but at least I knew my limits.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alessandrodona
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 21:06:11

    Hi, thanks for describing this hike, I went up part of it today and it was exactly like you said. One thing, though: the valley you see from up there is Manoa, not Pauoa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
