Pu’u Ohia Trail


Difficulty: Easy

Treachery: Little to none

Actual Milage: 1.73 miles

This trail is located in Pu’u Ualakaa State Wayside for you GPS users like me.  There are several trails up at the top of this mountain and I hope to explore some more of them soon. 

The trail today was very muddy.  Maybe they had just gotten a bunch of rain I don’t know but all of our sneakers are in the washer now.  Even so it was a really nice hike through a bamboo forest.  The grade isn’t too bad and the kids did very well. 

There are a couple of clearings along the way but the big pay off is at the top.  About .5 miles in you hit hardball.  So you need to go left and up the hill.  At the top of that hill there is a telephone substation.  To the left of the chainlink fence there is a trail that goes just a little bit farther.  That’s the pay off!

The view from the top

Since the conditions were muddy we opted to walk back down “telephone road” which connects back to Tantulus Dr.  Then we walked back on the road.  

I would say this is a very family friendly hike and we probably just picked a bad day.  But a lot of fun was had by all anyway.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. заказ авиабилетов онлайн
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 18:44:59

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to know a
    lot about this, like you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I feel that you just can do with some percent to power the message house
    a little bit, however instead of that, this is excellent blog.

    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Reply

  2. venta de autos
    May 21, 2013 @ 21:15:59

    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Reply

    • hikinginparadise
      May 21, 2013 @ 21:20:46

      I like wordpress. It’s all I’ve ever used besides the old school live journal. The format is one of the canned ones and I just spent time tweeking it the way I wanted it

      Reply

  3. embrasures embrocate embrocated embrocates embrocating embrocation embrocations embroglios embroider embroidered embroiderer embroiderers embroideries embroidering embroiders embroidery embroil embroiled embroiling embroilment embroilments embroils embryo
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 15:39:03

    I have a confident analytical eye just for detail and can anticipate issues before they occur.

    Reply

  4. parsacf.com
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 11:27:35

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up
    very pressured me to take a look at and do it! Your writing
    taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
