Hanauma Bay and Toilet Bowl


I set out this morning to hike what they call “toilet bowl” which is right near Hanauma bay.  So I dropped the kids off grabbed my snorkel gear and off I went. 

Hanauma bay is a nature preserve run by the state of Hawaii.  It has a coral reef that extends all the way through the bay.  At one time Hanauma bay used to recieve up to 10,000 visitors per day.  But since this damaged the entire ecosystem the number has been cut down drastically and things have been changed in the last 30 years or so.  Before you can go down to the beach you have to view a 10 or so minute video about what to do and what not to do while you are down at the bay.  

All that being said it’s touristy and crowded.  I snorkeled for a while but because the surf is up on the south shore these days it was kind of murky.  Just sand flying around really.  Plus my goggles kept fogging up which annoyed me to no end. 

Here’s a few pics that came out cool

As for the hike, apparently the trail has been closed for about 5 years due to deteriorating conditions.  From what I read it seems there is a guard posted there to make sure no one goes in.  I’m sure the locals have a way of skirting around the authories but I didn’t really feel like getting arrested and I didn’t think John would appreciate bailing me out.  So it was a no go.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
