Lanikai Pillbox Trail


Difficulty: Moderate.  Harder getting up than going down. 

Treachery: Quite a bit since your walking on a ridge

Actual Milage: 0.89 miles in and out

This hike is almost completely exposed to the sun.  But I would certainly say it’s a must do if you are only here a short time.  The views are incredible.  Traffic on this trail is moderate.  I was suprised that my two guys did this one.  We had to push them onward but they did it! 

The entire route round trip with 2 kids in tow was 1.5 hours.  We lingered a bit to check out the views.  The trail continues from pillboxes 2 and 3 but we didn’t go since we had the kids and we had promised them some beach time. 

The trailhead

Pillboxes 2 and 3 from Pillbox 1

The view from the top

*Note* the pictures taken that both overlook bays are not the same bay.  One is north facing showing MCBH at the far right and the other is south facing showing Bellows/Waimanalo.

Finding the trail isn’t too bad.  I put in Kailua Beach Park into my GPS.  From there I drove past KBP then took a left at the stop sign.  This puts you in “lanikai”.  A really easy way to find this is to put Mid Pacific Country Club in your GPS and that will take you to the trailhead.  You’ll see other cars there and just park on the street.


Lanikai on Dwellable
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 12:30:25

    Wow…that hike sure is worth the view…

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 12:31:47

    HI…I’m sorry to comment AGAIN…

    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable. I’ve been looking for blog posts about things to do in Lanikai to feature on our site. If you’re interested, shoot me an email at Jane (at) Dwellable (.com). Thanks, and I really hope that we can connect!

    Jane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
